Board of Visitors

The Board of Visitors supports and advances the mission of the School of Medicine. As ambassadors for the school, board members serve as external advisors to the dean and faculty, introduce leaders in the business community to the School and assist with public relations on a regional, national and global level. By assisting in fund-raising and enlisting potential volunteers and business partners, board members provide resources and strategic input regarding the goals and objectives associated with programs that cultivate discovery, teaching and applications of biomedical knowledge.


Jan A. Bertsch (Immediate Past Chair and Honorary Member)
Sr. Vice President/CFO
Member since 2002 
Donald Bignotti, M.D. '81
Chief Clinical Officer
Ascension Michigan
Member since 2016
David J. Campbell, MHA, FACHE
David Campbell, LLC
Member since 2017
Andrea Cole '94, M.B.A. '98
Executive Director and CEO
Flinn Foundation 
Member since 2014
Julius V. Combs '53, M.D. '58, Res. '62
(Retired) Chairman and CEO
United American Healthcare Corp.
Member since 1993 
Walter E. Douglas, LLD '13
Avis Ford, Inc
Member since 2004
Gerald D. Fitzgerald
(Retired) President and CEO
Oakwood Healthcare System
Member since 2006
Linda Forte
(Retired) Senior VP, Business Affairs
Comerica Bank
Member since 2014
Mindi Fynke
President and CEO
Employee Health Insurance Management (EHIM)
Member since 2014
Sidney Goldstein, M.D.
Division Head, Emeritus
Henry Ford Hospital
Member since 2010
Amyre Makupson
(Retired) News Anchor and Dir. Public of Affairs
Member since 2010
Daniel Malone
Director, Korean Client Relations & Vice Chair, Asia Practice
Butzel Long
Member since 2015
Florine Mark
President and CEO
Weight Watchers Group, Inc.
Member since 2000
Kamran S. Moghissi, M.D.
(Retired) WSU SOM Faculty
Investigator and Author
Member since 2010
William O'Neill, M. D. '77, Res. '80
Medical Director, Center for Structural Heart Diease
Department of Cardiology - Henry Ford Hospital  
Member since 2014 
Phillip Pierce '74
Managing Member
Pierce, Monroe & Associates, LLC
Member since 2015
Stephen Quinn
CFO, VP of Administration and Finance
Detroit Tigers, Inc
Member since 2014
George Richards
(Retired) Senior Vice President and Retail Market Manager
Comerica, Inc.
Member since 2014
Matthew X. Roling
Chief Executive Officer
Member since 2016
A. Paul Schaap, Ph.D., DSc '10
(Retired) Chairman
NexGen Diagnostics
Member since 2006
Thomas Simmer, M.D. '80
Senior VP and Chief Medical Officer
Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan
BOV - Chair  
Member since 2013
Robert J. Sokol, M. D.
Dean, Emeritus and Distinguished Professor, Emeritus
Dept. of Obstetrics & Gynecology & Physiology
WSU School of Medicine
Member since 2016
Lori Talsky Zekelman
Professor, Adjunct, Dept. of Epidemiology & Biostatistics
MI State University College of Human Medicine
Member since 2015
Gregory Zemenick '70, M. D. '71
Orthopaedic Surgeon  
Troy Orthopaedic Associates
Member since 2015 


Ex-Officio Members

Jack Sobel, M.D.
WSU School of Medicine Dean and Distinguished Professor

Stephen Henrie, CFRE
Associate Vice President for Development and Alumni Affairs