Notable Alums


Specialty: Emergency Medicine

Graduation Year: 1969

Brooks Bock

Brooks Bock, M.D. ’69, is chief executive officer of Colorado Mountain Medical, P.C., in Vail, Colo. A fellow of the American College of Emergency Physicians, he also earned a bachelor’s degree from the University of Michigan in 1965.

Dr. Bock originally trained in Surgery and Urology, but soon decided to practice and help develop the emerging discipline of Emergency Medicine. From 1973 to 1980 he joined the Emergency Department at Detroit Receiving Hospital, and in 1976 was the first program director for its newly established Emergency Medicine residency. In 1974, he joined the WSU School of Medicine faculty.

In 1980, Dr. Bock moved to Austin, Texas, and practiced Emergency Medicine at Brackenridge Hospital, also serving as president of the American College of Emergency Physicians. In 1985, he returned to WSU to head the Section of Emergency Medicine and the Emergency Department of Detroit Receiving Hospital. In 1990, he was appointed professor and chair of WSU’s newly established Department of Emergency Medicine. He was specialist-in-chief of Emergency Medicine for the Detroit Medical Center from 1985 to 2005. In 2005, Wayne State University School of Medicine’s Department of Emergency Medicine established an endowed professorship in his name.

Dr. Bock also has served as the medical director for the City of Detroit Emergency Medical Services, a member of the Governor’s Statewide Trauma Care Commission, a delegate to the American Medical Association, a member of the Roeper School Board of Directors, and president of the American Board of Emergency Medicine (2002 to 2003), and Harper University Hospital and Hutzel Women’s Hospital (2005 to 2008).

In 2008 Dr. Bock moved to Vail with his family, where he practiced with Vail Valley Emergency Physicians until 2009, when he became chief executive officer of Colorado Mountain Medical.

Dr. Bock has written multiple peer-reviewed papers, presented nationally and internationally on prehospital care and trauma management, and, from 1985 to 1995, served on the editorial board of the Annals of Emergency Medicine and from 1988 to1994 on the American Medical Association’s Residency Review Committee for Emergency Medicine.

His honors include the American College of Emergency Physicians’ John Wiegenstein Award for Leadership in Emergency Medicine and the WSU School of Medicine Distinguished Alumni Award.

From 1995 to 2004 he was the Munuswamy Dayanandan, M.D., Endowed Chair of Emergency Medicine and served on the Board of Directors of the American Board of Emergency Medicine.