Notable Alums


Specialty: Family Medicine

Graduation Year: 1977

Robert Nesse

Since 1980, Robert Nesse, M.D. ’77, has been a member of the physician staff of the Mayo Clinic, which has locations in Minnesota, Wisconsin, Iowa, Florida and Georgia.

He began his career as a member of the physician staff in Family Medicine. He was director of the family practice residency program from 1984 to 1990 and vice chair of the Family Medicine Department from 1990 to 1996. In 1996 he joined the Mayo Clinic Rochester Board of Governors and served as vice chair from 2000 to 2004. He was a member of the Mayo Clinic Board of Trustees from 2004 to 2014.

Dr. Nesse was chief executive officer of MCHS- Franciscan in LaCrosse, Wisc., from 2004 to 2010, and served as CEO of the Mayo Clinic Health System from 2010 to 2015. He is the senior director of Healthcare Policy and Payment Reform for the Mayo Clinic. Dr. Nesse has been affiliated with the American Medical Group Association, on its board of directors (2006), on its executive committee (2008) and as chair of its board of directors (2012).

After receiving his medical degree from the Wayne State University School of Medicine, Dr. Nesse completed a residency in Family Medicine at Oakwood Hospital in Dearborn, Mich. He also has a bachelor’s degree from St. Olaf College in Northfield, Minn.