Notable Alums


Specialty: Administrative Medicine

Graduation Year: 1955

Jack Ryan

Jack Ryan, M.D. ’55, is the retired president and chief executive officer of the Detroit-Macomb Hospital Corp., a family medicine specialist and a past-president of the Wayne State University School of Medicine Alumni Association.

Dr. Ryan already had attended Western Michigan University, the University of Michigan Law School and Emory University Graduate School before receiving his medical degree from the Wayne State University School of Medicine.

He became a family physician, physician-in-chief of Warren’s Memorial Medical Center and chief of staff at Detroit Memorial Hospital and South Macomb Hospital.

In addition to the Detroit-Macomb Hospitals Association, Dr. Ryan was president or chair of the Anthony Wayne Society and the Medical School Annual Fund. He also was a member of the WSU School of Medicine Board of Visitors and is past chair of the Michigan Hospital Association and the Detroit Academy of Medicine, and a past-director of the American Academy of Physician Directors.

As a medical student, Dr. Ryan was thrice elected class president and earned the Theodore McGraw Award for outstanding class member. In 1974, he received the School of Medicine Alumni Association’s Distinguished Alumni Award, which is presented annually to one or more alumni who have made outstanding contributions to humanitarian causes, whose contributions to the health field in the broader sense are outstanding or for service to the Wayne State University School of Medicine.

In his honor, the Jack Ryan Award is given annually to a Wayne State University School of Medicine faculty member who submits a meritorious proposal to conduct research of importance, and is intended to encourage the generation of preliminary data to strengthen an external grant submission.