Notable Alums


Specialty: Anesthesiology

Graduation Year: 1984

Carolyn Sprague

Carolyn Sprague, M.D. ’84, is an anesthesiologist at Henry Ford West Bloomfield Hospital.

Before receiving her medical degree from the Wayne State University School of Medicine, Dr. Sprague earned a master’s degree in physiology from the school in 1979. She completed her residency in Anesthesiology at Sinai Grace Hospital in 1987.

Dr. Sprague began serving on the School of Medicine’s Medical Alumni Board of Governors in 1989, and served a term as president from 1991 to 1992. She is a past-member of the School of Medicine’s Board of Visitors.

Dr. Sprague received the WSU School of Medicine Alumni Association’s Distinguished Alumni Award in 2012. The award is presented annually to one or more alumni who have made outstanding contributions to humanitarian causes, whose contributions to the health field in the broader sense are outstanding or for service to the Wayne State University School of Medicine.

She previously worked with the Executive Committee to secure funds for the Mazurek Medical Education Commons, and presently works to fund the School of Medicine Alumni Education Fund, which helps medical students reduce education debt.

The Spragues are a legacy family. Her husband and two of their three children are also WSU School of Medicine alumni.